Celery. What is the point?

I’ve never understood the point of raw celery. There aren’t many vegetables I won’t eat, but I do not eat raw celery under any circumstance. It falls somewhere FAR below peanut butter, raisins and okra on my list of most hated foods.

When I was a kid, people were forever thinking they could sneak raw celery into things and I wouldn’t notice. Seriously? It’s crunchy, for one thing. It tends to stick out like a sore thumb. And the strings? Gross. Who wants to deal with those in their teeth all day long? And on top of all that, it’s bitter. I make enough crabby faces on my own, I don’t need assistance from disgusting root vegetables.

{Image Source}

And let’s not forget my favorite argument in favor of raw celery. “It has negative calories!” If I want negative calories, I’ll exercise.  I prefer that the things I eat taste good or, you know, have some nutritional value. Upon examination of this nutritional data, the most significant nutrient celery seems to provide is SODIUM. If I want to consume 80mg of sodium, I think I’ll drink a couple Diet Cokes and save myself 18 calories.

Mama’s Losin’ It

3 Comments on “Celery. What is the point?”

  1. Ohhh, I could not agree with you more! I almost chose this prompt and wrote about my intense hatred for celery. And why do people always insist on putting it in chicken salad?! Totally makes it inedible!

  2. Kameron says:

    Since you detest peanutbutter, you have no real need for raw celery. The only thing it’s good for is a vessel to ingest heaping tablespoons of the sticky goodness!

  3. Shell says:

    You’re so right- there really is no point to it!


Leave a Reply

